S4 Update…

My S4 recently decided to commit suicide. Well, it was kinda my fault. After a long hard life I managed to kill it by plugging it into a faulty cable *sigh*. I ended up plugging it into a cable I knew was damaged. I plugged it in for a week or so just to let it charge for the next time I might need it. Fast forward a week or so and it would not turn on. I couldn’t seem to find why it wouldn’t turn on… I thought the battery went bad. It would not respond to anything… Turns out the cable kept going “off! on! off! on!” Yeah, a week of that… Oops. I tried my S6 “fast charge” power adapter and it started up. After a lot of crashes and unexpected shutdowns I made it to the home screen. I could tell something was fried. Everytime I restarted the phone it would tell me a different battery percentage. It was bouncing all over the place. When I unplugged it, it would immediately shut off. Every time I powered it on it would last shorter than the last time until I couldn’t even get past the bootloader… I did not manage to get any data off… :/

The s4 is a great device. I really hate that it died. I do have a Nexus 7 that has the exact same specs so I still have a device that is just as capable as my s4 (and better for consuming media with the larger screen)

Bottom line

Check your cables! If you know that it is damaged don’t just brush it off like I did!

Leave a Reply

